# Association News

#### In Memoriam James F. Parker, Jr., Ph.D.

James Parker, Ph.D., died on August 25, 2012. Dr. Parker was a former Fellow of AsMA. A long-time supporter of AsMA, Dr. \_\_\_\_\_\_\_ Parker founded



BioTechnology, Inc., in 1962. The company became a Corporate and Sustaining member of AsMA.

Dr. Parker received his Ph.D. in experimental psychology from the University of Maryland. His dissertation was on the problems of avia-

tion safety in Navy squadrons during operations in the Mediterranean. He served in the U.S. Navy aboard the USS Randolph and at the Bethesda Naval Hospital.

Dr. Parker's career spanned several decades and some of his more notable works include Managing Editor of the 1st and 2nd editions of the U.S. Naval Flight Surgeon's Manual, co-author of the 1st edition of the Bioastronautics Data Book, and managing editor of the 1st edition of Space Physiology and Medicine. Dr. Parker pioneered research in military and civilian pilot safety. He received the Association's Raymond F. Longacre Award in 1987 for his life-long work in pilot protection, performance measurement, vision and audition, human factors, and documentation of biomedical programs. He was an honorary member of the Society of NASA Flight Surgeons.

#### New Members

Caswell, Jason H., M.D., Cheyenne, WY Cinelli, Ilaria, Ph.D., London, UK Corbett, Mark A., Greenwith, SA, Australia Eggan, Stephen M., Ph.D., Wright-Patterson AFB, OH Garcia, Arturo, SSgt., USAF, Pensacola, FL Jewell, Susan, Dr., Tarzana, CA Lucio, Nicholas D., B.A., San Antonio, TX Malone, Sean I., M.D., Salisbury, NC Muhi, Stephen, M.B., B.S., Cranbourne, Australia Muniz, Pable Freixa, M.D., Caba, Argentina Neese, Brian, Capt., M.D., M.P.H., Davis Monthan AFB, AZ Niska, Richard W., M.D., Washington, DC Schneiderman, Jason S., Ph.D., Philadel-

Schneiderman, Jason S., Ph.D., Philadelphia, PA

Wherry, Calen, Wright-Patterson AFB, OH

## Check out the new, improved AsMA website!!!

http://www.asma.org Explore the links to our Constituent and Affiliate Organizations, the WING, and our Corporate Members!!!

#### **Future AsMA Meetings**

May 12-16, 2013 Chicago Sheraton Chicago, IL

May 11-15, 2014 San Diego Hilton San Diego

May 10-14, 2015 Walt Disney World Swan and Dolphin Hotel Lake Buena Vista, FL

April 24-28, 2016 Rio Las Vegas Hotel and Casino Las Vegas, NV

#### INDEX TO ADVERTISERS

#### Aerospace Medical Association

Advance Registration Formv
Corporate Members
Information for AuthorsCover III
Membership Application
Wing Registration Formiii
European School of Aviation
<b>Medicine</b>
ETCCover IV
UHMS

### Nominations Sought for 2013 AsMA Awards

The Awards Committee of the Aerospace Medical Association, which is responsible for selecting the annual winners of special awards, has set a **January 15** deadline for receiving nominations for awards to be presented at the 2013 Annual Scientific Meeting in Chicago, IL. The names of prospective award winners should be submitted as far in advance of the deadline as possible. To view a list of past recipients go to the AsMA website: http://www.asma.org/pdf/awrdwin.pdf

Nominations can be made by any member of AsMA.

#### **Rules:**

1. The nominee must be a current member of the Association by Feb. 1 in the year in which the award may be given, with the sole exception that the Sidney D. Leverett, Jr., Environmental Science Award is open to nonmembers.

2. Employees of a company sponsoring an award are eligible to receive the award. Self-nomination is not allowed. Deceased members may be nominated.

3. Nominations for the Tuttle and Environmental Science Awards must cite a specific paper printed in *Aviation, Space, and Environmental Medicine.* The award will be given to the first author, with co-authors that are AsMA members receiving co-author recognition.

4. An individual can only receive one award in any one year. The same individual may receive an award more than once, so long as five years have elapsed between the last time that award was won by that same awardee. The exception is the Bauer Award, as this award is only given once to an individual.

5. Nominations are good for three years from the original award nomination. They may be updated. If substantial material has changed for the same award within that three-year cycle—a new nomination should be submitted.

6. The form is available on the AsMA website. You may either submit the nomination directly from the website or you may download the

nomination form into your computer for e-mailing as a pdf document attachment. Nomination forms sent via e-mail should be addressed to the Awards Committee Chair, Kris Belland, D.O., at awards@asma.org; and Ms. Gisselle Vargas at AsMA Headquarters (gvargas@asma.org). If e-mail is not available, you can send a hard copy of the form via normal mail to: Aerospace Medical Association, 320 South Henry St., Alexandria, VA 22314; or fax to the AsMA Home Office: (703)739-9652. Any auxiliary biographical material in electronic or hard copy <u>attachments must be limited to 3 typed pages</u> and will be retained in Association files.

7. Nominations received after **Jan. 15th** will be considered for awards to be presented at the next annual meeting.

ANNUAL AWARDS (descriptions online)

- 1. Louis H. Bauer Founders Award
- 2. Mary T. Klinker Award
- 3. Harry G. Moseley Award
- 4. Eric Liljencrantz Award
- 5. Theodore C. Lyster Award
- 6. Boothby Edwards Award
- 7. Julian E. Ward Memorial Award
- 8. Raymond F. Longacre Award
- 9. Arnold D. Tuttle Award
- 10. John A. Tamisiea Award
- 11. Sidney D. Leverett, Jr. Environmental Science Award
- 12. John Paul Stapp Award
- 13. Kent K. Gillingham Award
- 14. Won Chuel Kay Award
- 15. Marie Marvingt Award
- 16. Joe Kerwin Award
- 17. John Ernsting Award
- 18. Walter and Sylvia Goldenrath Award