high altitude in the remote Andes of Peru, as well as many hypoxia/altitude chambers and facilities (normobaric and hypobaric). His research has been awarded international prizes including the Ernsting, Liljencrantz, and Tuttle Awards from the Aerospace Medical Association (AsMA). He is also an elected Fellow of AsMA and Academician of the International Academy of Aviation and Space Medicine. He has been an invited speaker in nine countries, including the Australasian Society of Aerospace Medicine's John Lane Oration. Professor Smith led the KCL M.Sc. in Space Physiology and Health in collaboration with the European Space Agency's European Astronaut Centre in Cologne, Germany, for several years, and he continues to teach on KCL's Diploma in Aerospace Medicine as Visiting Professor.

Clinically, Professor Smith has extensive experience in anesthesia for major high-risk surgery, as well as broad experience as a flight doctor in aeromedical critical care. He has a further interest in hyperbaric medicine.

Professor Smith has led many collaborations extending across academia, the commercial industry, the military, and the aviation/space regulator and space agencies, including NASA, the European Space Agency, and the UK Space Agency. He has served in senior professional and government advisory roles and is a past Chair of the Royal Aeronautical Society's Aerospace Medicine Group and a former Macintosh Professor of the Royal College of Anaesthetists, London.

## JULIAN E. WARD MEMORIAL AWARD Samantha King, M.D., M.S.



Established and sponsored by the Society of U.S. Air Force Flight Surgeons in memory of its first member to lose his life in an aircraft accident, and to honor all flight surgeons whose lives are lost in the pursuit of flying activities related to the practice of aerospace medicine. The award is given annually for superior performance and/or outstanding achievement in the art and science of aerospace medicine

during residency training.

Samantha "Sam" King, M.D., M.S., is the 2025 winner of the Julian E. Ward Memorial Award. She received the award for being an outstanding resident in aerospace medicine and providing state-of-the-art clinical services to the University of Texas Medical Branch and NASA, conducting leading-edge clinical research, reviewing significant cases of aerospace medicine to better understand the risks of long-duration human spaceflight, publishing numerous articles in the peer-reviewed literature, and demonstrating leadership through her incredible knowledge base and interpersonal skills in a complex, high-risk practice environment. She is an active participant at AsMA and has given multiple presentations.

Originally from Dayton, OH, Sam King is a second-year Aerospace Medicine resident at UTMB. She earned bachelor's degrees in Chemistry and Microbiology, as well as her Doctor of Medicine (magna cum laude), from Ohio State University. After medical school, Sam completed an Emergency Medicine residency and an Advanced Emergency Ultrasound fellowship at the University of Maryland Medical Center in Baltimore, MD, where she then joined the faculty as a clinical assistant professor.

Following her passions, Sam pursued a residency in Aerospace Medicine at UTMB. She continues to practice Emergency Medicine and teaches ultrasound as a faculty member with UTMB's Department of Emergency Medicine. In May 2024, Sam earned her Master of Science in Aerospace Medicine as part of the inaugural class of UTMB's new curriculum, and she was the 2024 UTMB Aerospace Medicine Residency Community Service Award winner.

Sam has presented several times at AsMA and served as an abstract reviewer for the Scientific Program Committee. She earned an honorable mention for the Space Medicine Association Young Investigator Award in 2023, was selected 1st Place for the 2024 AsMA Fellows Scholarship for her presentation and publication on the "Tolerance of Centrifuge-Simulated Spaceflight in Individuals with Diabetes Mellitus," and was the 2024 RAM Bowl Highest Individual Score. She is set to graduate from her Aerospace Medicine residency in June 2025.

Sam is a diplomat of the American Board of Emergency Medicine and a fellow of the American Academy of Emergency Medicine. She is also a member of the Space Medicine Association, the Aerospace Medicine Student & Resident Organization, American Medical Association, American College of Emergency Physicians, American Academy of Emergency Medicine, and Alpha Omega Alpha.

## In Memoriam: William F. Storm

AsMA HQ Staff were saddened to hear of the death of William F. Storm, Ph.D. He received his B.A. in Psychology and then



M.A. in Experimental Psychology at San Diego State University. He received his doctorate from the University of Missouri in 1970. He then worked as a National Research Council post-doctoral trainee at the 6571st Aeromedical Research Lab at Holloman AFB in New Mexico. In 1971, he was moved to the USAF School of Aerospace Medicine at Brooks AFB in San Antonio, TX.

Dr. Storm worked in the En-

vironmental Physiology Branch as a Research Psychologist until 1995. Subsequently, he spent 1995–1996 as the Deputy Director of the Human Resources Directorate of Armstrong Laboratory at Brooks AFB, and then 1996–1997 as a Distinguished Visiting Scholar in the Department of Behavioral Sciences and Leadership at the U.S. Air Force Academy. In 1997, he returned to the group, where he worked as a Supervisory Research Psychologist in the Biodynamics and Protection Division. He retired from Civil Service in 2002 and continued working as a contractor with Wyle, Inc.

Dr. Storm received the Harold Brown Award in 1994. He also received the Department of Defense Desert Shield/Desert Storm Medal in 1992, the Aerospace Medical Association's Harry G. Moseley Award in 1995, and the Aerospace Human Factors Association's Henry L. Taylor Founder's Award in 2004.

[Please see the June 2025 newsletter for the full biography.]